We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

Securing Controller-Action for certain parameters using ACL

Hello everybody,

this is my first post and I am still very new to the Phalcon-Framework, but I already love it. Now I am facing a problem and I couldn't find a way how to solve it yet. The following is only one example, in fact, I have this problem frequently in my application.

In my application, I have two roles, "users" and "admins". The profiles-controller has an action called "show" in order to show the profile of a user. The parameter of the show-action is the user-id. Now what I want is that regular users (role: user) are only allowed to use the "show"-action with the parameter of their own user-id stored in the session. Admins should be allowed to use any parameter wich allows them to view all profiles of all users. Is this realizable with the Acl-List and a Security-Plugin or is my whole approach wrong or too complicated?

Thank you and all the best, MSP

edited Sep '16

You don't need ACL for that. Simple code in controller action, for example like: if ($user->id !== $session['id']) { return false; } would be enought

edited Sep '16

Well in 3.1.0 i will add Phalcon\Firewall which can be used to securing actions in controllers using acl or annotations. You will get here some options, thanks for idea for adding dispatcher params to it too.

Basically you need to use beforeExecuteRoute and acl. In phalcon 3.0.0 you can implements custom logic in acl, so for example:

// Define allow like this
$acl->allow('ROLE_XYZ', 'SomeController', 'someAction', function ($dispatcherParameters) {
    $userSession = Di::getDefault()->get('session')->get('user');
    return $dispatcherParameters['id'] == $userSession;
});
// In controller or beforeExecuteRoute or wherever you want: