We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

Phalcon 4 on PHP 7.4 - can't follow install instructions successfully

I want to turn up an AWS EC2 server so I can make an AMI from it and use it in an auto-scaling load balanced group. I am failing left and right. I'm not espceially Linux-aware and I am out of my element.

My end result goal is an Ubuntu 18.04/PHP 7.4/Phalcon 4 server. I think i need to install the Phalcon devtools, too, in order to have it set up the applpication folder and subfolders automatically for me? I may need this explained like I'm a brand new student.

What I’ve done so far:

• T2.micro instance size
  • Launch EC2 using Free Tier Ubuntu 18.04 (ubuntu/images/hvm-ssd/ubuntu-bionic-18.04-amd64-server-20200611 (ami-0ac80df6eff0e70b5))
  • Setup elastic IP and assign to staging instance
  • Install Apache
    • Putty to EC2 instance
    • sudo apt-get update
    • sudo apt-get install apache2
    • Config UFW firewall
      • sudo ufw app list
      • sudo ufw allow 'Apache'
  • Install PHP 7.4
    • sudo apt upgrade
    • upgrades all current packages (there were a bunch)
      • Kept local menu.lst etc., when asked
    • sudo apt install software-properties-common
    • sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ondrej/php
    • sudo apt update
    • sudo apt upgrade (again)
    • sudo apt install php7.4
    • php -v (to confirm php installed)
    • default apache webpage loads at this point along with phpinfo() that I added

There is an image made at this point, in case we need to build from here

• install PSR
    • git clone https://github.com/jbboehr/php-psr.git
    • apt install php7.4-dev (warning said apt install php7.2-dev, was this my prob before?)
    • cd php-psr
    • phpize
    • ./configure
    • make
    • make test
    • sudo make install
    • had to manually add to the /etc/php/7.4/cli/php.ini (do we need to do the apache2 one too?)
      • extension=psr.so