We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

Table "robots" doesn't exist on database when dumping meta-data

Hi guys, I am a very beginner with phalcon, I started just few days ago.

I found this problem on Phalcon Documentation 1.3.0 - Tutorial 3: Creating a Simple REST API (pdf format)

When I invoke /api/robots via Browser I receive the following exception

Table "robots" doesn't exist on database when dumping meta-data

By Googling around the web I found the fix. Here you are

1) Go on Robots.php file 2) Just before the function validation() add the following snippet

**public function getSource(){
            return 'Robots';
    }**

Maybe it could be useful add that to the official documentation. Furthemore I kindly suggest to attach the database definition to the tutorial. This is the mine one

**drop database if exists restapi;
    create database restapi;
    use restapi;
    create table Robots (
        `id` int(11) not null auto_increment,
        `name` varchar(100) not null default '',
        `type` varchar(100) not null default '',
        `year` int(11) unsigned not null,
        primary key(`id`)
    );

insert into Robots (name, type, year) values ('Terminator','mechanical','1980'),('Robocop','mechanical','1992'),('Astro Boy','virtual','1986'),('Cyborg','droid','1975');

I hope this helps.

The documentation does state how a model and database table should be related, here: https://docs.phalcon.io/en/latest/reference/models.html#creating-models