We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

webisite working on localhost but not on virtual machine

Hi, i have developed a website on my localhost. Its configuration files and directory structure resembles https://github.com/phalcon/invo/tree/0.5.0 I am quite new to working on remote servers so I uploaded the whole folder in the root folder of a vm server. The vm is usinig apache2. The only thing i have changed is the mysql database configration in config.ini file located in app/config.

Now the problem is whenever, i am trying to run the website, i see the directories and the files rather than website. When i click the public directory (where index file is located), i get the basic html format website (no bootstrap and js etc). Finally when i click any link on the index page, i get an error 404 i.e The requested URL /foo/bar/index was not found on this server.

Everything works fine when i am using local host, however, the same files doesn't work on the vm server. I would appreciate any form of help.

Thanks .

edited Nov '16

Invo branches :

0.5.0 Updated 4 years ago
master Updated a month

I do hope you have followed the master branch :D

Anyways probably you messed the apache config

Master wasn't working properly on my pc for some reasons therefore, i choose 0.5.0. Apache2 has the default debian configuration on the vm server as well as on my localhost

Invo branches :

0.5.0 Updated 4 years ago
master Updated a month

I do hope you have followed the master branch :D

Anyways probably you messed the apache config

edited Nov '16

You are probabbly missing a lot more than just apache stuff. At first place, did you even installed Phalcon and PHP support for that VM of yours?

What is your 'localhost' machine? Windows? Phalcon version?

P.S. Using ages old version of some software is just terribly wrong.

edited Nov '16