We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

Query item by slug instead of ID

Greetings!

I'm not good with PHP or phalcon, so apologize for what may be a vary basic question.

I want to have a link like this:

https://example.com/items/show/my-unique-slug instead of https://example.com/items/show/5

In my ItemsController I have the following:

public function indexAction()
    {
        $this->view->title = 'Items';
        $this->view->items = Items::find(
            [
                "order" => "id",
                "limit" => 10,
            ]
        );
    }

public function showAction($id)
    {
        $this->view->title = 'Show Item';
        $this->view->items = Items::find($id);
    }

Changing the param on showAction from $id to $slug will do nothing (I have a unique $slug for each item in the model) and the view will still only be accessible by the id.

Can anyone help me solve this?

Thanks

Accepted
answer
edited Sep '17

Some things to get you started with:

1) Your urls should look something like: website.com/items/slug-of-item

2) Example route definition:

$router->add('/items/{slug}', 'Items::show')->setName('items-detail');

3) Getting the slug parameter from the url.

• either you add it as parameter in the showAction() function or you use dispatcher like so: $this->dispatcher->getParam("slug")

4) You query the database, in your case using the orm models.

find() method returns multiple results, you have to use findFirst() to get single result.

Items::findFirstBySlug($slug)

or

Items::findFirstBySlug($this->dispatcher->getParam('slug'))

Note: the above findFirstByColumn are magic methods, if you are not comfortable with them the alternative is:

Items;:findFist([
    'conditions' => 'slug = :slug:',
    'bind' => [
        'slug' => $this->dispatcher->getParam('slug')
    ]
]);

Don't forget to sanitize those input params.