We have moved our forum to GitHub Discussions. For questions about Phalcon v3/v4/v5 you can visit here and for Phalcon v6 here.

[Solved] Apache Installation Notes - mod_rewrite, Virtual Hosts

Hello,

my question is about this sentence from Apache installation notes "And this second configuration allows you to install a Phalcon application in a virtual host:"

https://docs.phalcon.io/en/latest/reference/apache.html

That implies that one cannot use virtual hosts if rewrite rules are placed in .htaccess files. I don't think this is true, but I could be wrong, since I am not an expert in apache configuration. What I know is that I have used, and I am actually using similar configuration (mod rewirte rules in .htaccess file.) with Zend framework, and Virtual Hosts work fine, as far as I can see...

Could anyone explain this a bit, and/or point me in right direction. Have I overlooked something here, what?

edited Jun '14

The latest section isn't meant as a copy-paste. It shows a simple virtual host without the rewrite rules.

The rewrite rules could just as well be placed in the virtuals hosts as you mentioned.

<VirtualHost *:80>
    ServerAdmin [email protected]
    DocumentRoot "/var/vhosts/test/public"
    DirectoryIndex index.php
    ServerName example.host
    ServerAlias www.example.host

<Directory "/var/vhosts/test/public">
        Options All
        AllowOverride All
        Allow from all
    </Directory>

<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
        <Directory "/var/www/test/public">
            RewriteEngine On
            RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
            RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
            RewriteRule ^(.*)$ index.php?_url=/$1 [QSA,L]
        </Directory>
    </IfModule>
</VirtualHost>

I haven't said it is meant as a copy paste.

I didn't include rewrite rules in virtual hosts file, but in in .htaccess.

The documentations implies, if I understand it correctly, that we cannot have rules in htaccess file if want to use virtual hosts...